The Final White Rock 1/2 Marathon #blog

I’m skipping a few race recaps to crank out this one because this weekend is the Dallas Full and Half Marathon.  Thought my recap from last year’s race might be timely.

I have lived in the DFW Metroplex for quite a while now, but I have never ever never had the urge to run the race formerly known as White Rock, and now the Dallas Marathon.  Why?  Every year I watch the live coverage on TV, and every year the weather seems to be horriblay!  That’s numero one.  Numero two is that I live here, and I can run around that area anytime I want.  I guess I always figured if I do a marathon,  it may as well be someplace scenic for me.

Buuut, last year I had been training with a bunch of folks who were training for this race.  And I got a free race entry for the half.  That helps.  And let me just say that my fears came true.  The. Weather. Was. Awful.  It was like 40 degrees American and pouring down rain.  Miserable.  I saw people shivering beyond control.  Several friends had severe blisters from wet socks.  And I met several peeps who told me they simply dropped out of the race part way through.  It was tough.

When I finished and changed clothes and picked up my soaking wet clothes, they must’ve weighed about 20 pounds American.  But, I did finish.  My time was just OK, but it could’ve been a lot worse.  I was never so happy to finish a race, just to get out of the elements.  It took a long time to warm up, and the free post race beers may or may not have helped.

Check out the baloonatic.

Check out the baloonatic.

After the race, it was forever changed.  New name, new course, new new stuff.  So I can at least say I ran in one of the most historic races in Dallas before it disappeared.  I’ll be down there this week during the inaugural Dallas Marathon.  I need to run 20 miles for my training and figured I’d do it when a bazillion other folks are also running.  Plus people cheering and aid stations help out.  I’ll be on the look out for my peeps that I helped train for the half.  I know they’ll do great!  If anyone sees me running around, give a shout out!

Holla!

Categories: Race Recaps | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Final White Rock 1/2 Marathon #blog

  1. Congrats on your Half! I would like to make this one next year! Good luck on the Dallas marathon tomorrow!

    • Thanks J-Lay! This year was hot and humid. Lots of slow times. Crazy thing is that it went from 70 to 30 degrees a few hours after the race! If you come next year, let me know!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

