Hot Chocolate 15k Recap – Trains, Hills, & a New PR!!!

The Dallas Hot Chocolate 15k was my 2nd ever race at that distance. And I’m glad to report that it went much better than the first one. In fact, I earned my shiny chocolate themed medal by running a new PR!

The medal looks like a chocolate bar, but it tastes like victory.

The medal looks like a chocolate bar, but it tastes like brass.

There was supposed to be sold out with 13,000 total people running the 5k and 15k races. That means a lot of traffic getting to the event. Luckily my friend, Jewely talked me into taking the train down with friends rather than drive.

Of course we needed a pic on the choo choo.

Of course we needed a pic on the choo choo.

We definitely saved a lot of time and stress by taking riding the rail. All we had to do was sit there and watch the world go by.

You can't take a selfie around us without getting photobomed, duh!

You can’t take a selfie around us without getting photobomed, duh!

As we got closer to the race, the train got more and more crowded. We were lucky to have gotten on at an earlier stop, when seats were still available.

Train's getting full. Luckily they had stripper poles to hold on to.

Train’s getting full. Luckily they had stripper poles for people to hold on to.

The temps that morning were in the mid-40’s, but with a 10-15 mph wind it felt like 35 degrees!!! So when we got to the event, we stayed warm before the race by staying indoors!

B4 da race. I never understood arm sleeves. Are they for people that don't care about cold shoulders?

B4 da race. I never understood arm sleeves. Are they for people that don’t care about cold shoulders?

The 5k started first. But due to traffic and such, people were late. The race was nice enough to wait for them, but that also meant the 15k would start like 15 minutes late. It was not fun standing in the cold waiting for the starting horn to blow! But eventually, we were off!

My run buds Clay and Dawn were on the course cheering. Clayton got this shot of me. Dueces!

My run buds Clay and Dawn were on the course cheering. Clayton got this shot of me. Dueces!

The course itself was TOUGH – lotsa hills! Most people don’t think of Dallas as hilly, but this race made sure to find as many as they could!

At mile 5ish, we had about a pretty steep incline for about half a mile. At the top of the hill, some spectators had set up a whiskey station to give shots to the runners. Haha, with the pain I was feeling, I was tempted to take one, but decided to plug along instead.

The red parts are my slowest sections, coincidentally, they were also on big hills.

The red parts are my slowest sections, coincidentally, they were also on big hills. Ha, when I saw that hill around mile 8 after turning the corner, I dropped a few choice words aloud!

And can I just say, I love the support of the running community. Towards the end of the race, a few of us strangers started encouraging each other with words of encouragement. It helped us finish strong!

You can watch a short video of my and my new besties crossing the finish line BY CLICKING HERE!

I wanted to run a sub 7:40 mile pace, and I did!!! ~ 7:39 per mile ~ a full 20 seconds faster per mile than my last 15k! That came out to more than a 2 minute PR!hcAlso, I’ve said this before, but I hate my age group. I finished in the top 3% overall, but in the top 15% of my age group. Grrrr, I can’t wait to get to a new age group next month!!!

After da race with our sweet rewards.

After da race with our sweet rewards.

After the race, they had a fun little after-party going on with a DJ, chocolate treats, etc. Here’s a 6 second video recap I made:

To be honest, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so all the chocolate was a bit too much for me to handle. But on the way home I decided there should be some celebrating with a grown-up treat…

Now were talkin.

A chocolate stout still counts as chocolate, right?

In the end, I was sassified with the results – especially considering the wind, hills, & not knowing how to pace this distance. And most importantly, it was a fun time!

How bout you? LIke that bling? Gotta sweet tooth or a beer tooth? Ever ride a choo choo train?

-Scott

Categories: fitfluetial, Race Recaps, run, Running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate 15k Recap – Trains, Hills, & a New PR!!!

  1. Congrats!! I have a sweet tooth & a beer tooth hehehe

  2. My husband feels the same way about his age group. Actually I think he’s in a new one now but we haven’t raced much lately. In the past I would place in mine and he would be way back there because those young 30 somethings are FAST! I am looking forward to getting older and getting prizes for going slower!

  3. Awesome job!

    One of the only good things about getting older: new age groups. Although I’ve noticed that competition is often tougher in my new age group — the top women finish faster than the next AG down!

    I’m not a big chocolate person, and when I was a drinker, chocolate stout would’ve worked for me. Then again, I wouldn’t have made it to the start when I was drinking. I don’t know what my point is, lol. Mostly want to congratulate you on your PR.

    • Agreed! I’ve noticed that too in years past. One time I ran a 5k the day after entering a new age group. Didn’t place, but would’ve won my group from the day before!

      Hahaha, well thanks!

  4. 7:39? You’re awesome! And arm sleeves are awesome too…lots of warm skin but cool pits, baby!

  5. Woot! Congrats on your PR. I def have a sweet tooth. I don’t like beer so Ben drinks all of mine. I eat his chocolate. It works for us.

  6. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes

    I’ve definitely got a sweet tooth and not a beer tooth. Unless…..it’s a hot summer race, then I love an ice cold beer! Congrats on the PR!

  7. Nice job! I have a sweet tooth but it’s limited to chocolate. My husband has the beer tooth! And that is one competitive age group!

  8. Nice bling and PR! Arm sleeves rock! I am trying to quit my sweet tooth but luckily chocolate was never really my thing.

  9. Congrats on the PR!!!!

  10. That medal is excellent. And how nice that it came with a PR!

  11. charissarunning

    Congrats on the amazing PR! I have yet to do a 15k so I would have no idea how to pace for it either. After a race, I usually crave something salty like FRENCH FRIES!!

    • Thank you!!! Yeah, I didn’t know really how to manage the race, but it worked out all right! I’m with you, I prefer to have something salty afterwards. Tacos are good!

  12. WalkToRio

    Congrats on the PR!
    You look so fresh crossing the line on that video.
    Arm sleeves are great to prevent pit stains.
    I have a sweet tooth but I don’t like chocolate and I don’t like beer either, I would have taken the whiskey though.

    • Thank you! I didn’t feel so fresh, or smell fresh for that matter.
      OK, you’re the 2nd one to say arm sleeves are about the pits. Good to know. We have a popular restaurant here called Whiskey Cake. We’ll have to go there if you ever come to Dallas!

  13. Great awesome job!!! How did you like that distance? A little strange, isn’t it? The “stripper poles” on the train? Virus traps. Ugh. I cringe every time I have to hold one, but it’s better than falling on my arsk though, right?

    • Thank you!!! The distance was good, but yes strange. All I know is that I was very happy it wasn’t a 13.1 after all the hills! Haha, yeah, I’m a bit of a germaphobe too, so I was glad to have a seat!

  14. That’s an awesome PR- congratulations!! And so nice when strangers running around each other give encouragement.
    I never know how I feel bout a race starting late for people who were late. On one hand I think it’s really nice, especially when a race is newer and traffic logistics, etc. aren’t smooth yet. On the other hand, it really sucks for people who were there early or on time and are stuck waiting!
    Lol about the arm sleeves 🙂
    Sadly I don’t like beer. Chocolate all the way!!

    • Thank you!!! Yes, it was great to have the encouragement from other runners! I tried to give some back too! I agree on the late start views. Yeah, we were on the train with people who were supposed to be in the 5k. No way they made it on time. Enjoy your chocolate!

  15. Major sweet tooth and the medal is really cute! I’m a terrible and nervous driver so any chance I can get to be a passenger, albeit with friends in a car or on the train I’m IN! Congrats on the PR!

  16. Chelsea Eats Treats

    Looks like an awesome race! I love the medal. I would have been tempted by a whiskey shot!

    • Thank you! Haha, my friend told me after the race that she took a shot. I was hurting too much from the hill to use the energy to run over to them. Ha!

  17. Pingback: Free Race Photos! Woo to the Hoo! | Piratebobcat

  18. Congratulations on a new PR! Even in wind and up hills and in the cold (if you can call that cold). I definitely have a sweet tooth, not a beer tooth. I can pack away a lot of chocolate and I do!

    • Thank you! Ha, it was cold! Well, not once we got running, but when we were waiting to start we were freezing! Enjoy your Canadian chocolate!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

