Final Key West Picture Purge – Run & Relax

Thanks for everyone’s great response to my recap of the Key West Half Marathon. It really was a great time! But like most good things, this racecation had to come to an end. Not before we got all touristy though…

Reppin Torchy's Tacos

Reppin Torchy’s Tacos in the Conch Republic.

In key West you walk. A lot. According to my pedometer app, we were averaging around 9 miles a day. How that’s possible on such a small island is beyond me. Anyway, because of that, I only went on one other run while there.

A quick 3 miler.

A quick 3 miler.

Then of course, I had to shower. Why not do it publicly.

Sadly, nobody paid.

Sadly, nobody paid.

Then we had to eat (and drink).

Sure, I'll sit on the patio.

Sure, I’ll sit on the patio.

Blue Heaven. Buffett played a show from that water tower and Hemingway used to referee boxing matches here.

Blue Heaven. Buffett played a show from that water tower and Hemingway used to referee boxing matches here.

And hang out on the beach and play with animals.

My shirt fit in there.

My shirt fit in there.

Yes we pelican.

Yes we pelican.

Iguana know what he's doing in that tree.

Iguana know what he’s doing in that tree.

And of course, hang out with the chickens.

Wonder why he crossed the road.

Wonder why he crossed the road.

Like a boss!

Like a boss!

And shop for a new outfit.

I think I can pull it off.

I think I can pull it off.

Eat some more.

You must take a pic at every meal.

You must take a pic at every meal.

And of course, get turnt up in da club…

What's the age restriction in Sloppy Joe's?

What’s the age restriction in Sloppy Joe’s?

Capt. Tony's was a regular spot.

Capt. Tony’s was a regular spot.

In the men's restroom - protected Buffett lyrics he wrote on the wall as to not forget them.

In the men’s restroom – protected Buffett lyrics he wrote on the wall as to not forget them.

Get a little churchin.

That's a pretty stain.

That’s a pretty stain.

Eat by the sea again.

Yay, the electricity came back on!

Yay, the electricity came back on!

Watch more sunsets.

I'm super kewl.

I’m sewper kewl.

They're on a boat!

They’re on a boat!

IMG_2721

So are they.

And drive back to Miami.

Bienvenidos a Miami.

Bienvenidos a Miami.

Stop by Key Biscayne.

Look, an old lighthouse.

Look, an old lighthouse.

I was down there before.

I was down there before.

Before finally flying home.

We flew over New Orleans, where I tried to leave a little luck for all my friends running the Rock n Roll NOLA 1/2 & 26.2 a couple days later.

French Quarter from above.

French Quarter from above.

So there ya go kids. A crazy good time. Now back to life, back to reality. Luckily I brought some of the south Florida weather back with me to Texas. Time to run!

How bout you?

Categories: fitfluetial, Life Times, Race Recaps, run, Running, travel, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Final Key West Picture Purge – Run & Relax

  1. Glad it’s nice a warm there 🙂 Looks like you had a pretty awesome racecation!

  2. I’m not jealous at all. Warm weather and beaches? Yuck! It’s basically 0 degrees here. I wish I was talking Celsius – sadly, I am not.

  3. Sunshine and beaches? Yes! Iguanas in trees? Umm. No way!

  4. I’ve never been to Key West, but now I think I’m gonna have to add it to my bucket list!

  5. You are just making me crave Key West even more! Only 129 days, but who’s counting…

  6. Sue @ This Mama Runs For Cupcakes

    The only place in the United States that you can pull off that shirt and it’s not hideous 🙂 Anywhere else…..forgedddaboutit

  7. WOW WOW WOW!!! Fabulous!! I wanna be there!! 🙂 XOXO

  8. ahh reminds me of my college days. Looks like a great time!

  9. That was such an entertaining recap. You really find the humor in everything and do a great job of telling your story. Plus you made me totally jealous and want to head somewhere warm asap. Glad you had a great trip and good luck getting back to reality after that one!

    • Thanks so much!!!! I try to keep it fun and silly. Yes, you need to get someplace warm asap! Ha yes, reality is hard to come back to!

  10. I think if/when I visit Key West, I probably won’t leave. It fits my personality all too perfectly. Nice pics!

  11. 9 miles for a small island is a ton of walking! Glad you got to see so much and have a blast with your family! I love trips like that. I wish you could send me some of that warm weather though, we got 3 feet of snow this week and apparently another storm is heading our way this weekend! Yikes!

    • Ha, yeah, a lot of people rent bikes or mopeds, but we decided to walk it. We got our mileage in! I wish I could send you some warmth too. I’m sorry about the snow!!!! Stay warm and safe!

  12. Pingback: Back 2 Runnin, Birthday Boy, Makin TV & a Bummer, man. | Piratebobcat

  13. So should I credit you with the amazing weather we had in NOLA? Thanks, man.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

