Animated Running, Trail Nimbleness, Yoga Bliss, & I’m a Sunglassed Winner!

What’s up, Playas? I know the holidays are upon us, but I feel like things are kind of getting settled around here. Not normal, I know. But now that the Dallas Marathon is over, people in these parts are kind of on hiatus, running wise. Not me though!

Before I get to what’s up, lemme wrap up my Dallas race. The proofs came in and I had some fun turning them into animated gifs…

At the finish with a mystery run partner.

At the finish with a mystery run partner.

Me n my mystery run partner.

If the animation was too much for you, here’s a still.

And one funny thing I found: I didn’t know it, but I was running for a while with one of my training buddies. I didn’t realize it until I saw the pics! Ha, I guess we were too focused on being in beast mode.

Me and a not mystery runner.

Me and a not mystery runner.

Me n Liz (Ironman shirt)

Me n Liz (Ironman shirt & visor). We ran many miles together this training season.

Anyway, on to this weekend: 10 solo miles on Saturday, followed by a muddy group trail run on Sunday. The highlight being that I was particularly graceful and nimble as I crossed a creek.

It only took me like 8 minutes to cross, but I didn't want to fall in like my friend did before me!

It only took me like 8 minutes to cross, but I didn’t want to fall in like my friend did before me!

Anywhoodle, after the trail miles, it was on to yoga. I was pumped when I saw which instructor it was – this lady is awesome…and she kicked our booties!

Can you spot me?

Can you spot me?

I am seriously sore after all the yogaing.

I swear we did more than just this pose.

I swear we did more than just this pose.

Oh, and I just got some good news…At the Dallas Marathon Race Expo, I posed for a photo at a local running store’s red carpet. And guess what?!?! They liked it so much they said I won a $50 gift card! Booyah!!!

The winning photo. Luckily I had two sets of shades on me.

The winning photo. As my one friend put it, “two sets of shades because the sun never sets on a badass” Truer words have rarely been spoken.

So there it is, kiddos. Tryin to keep it real in the face of holiday chaoticness. Boom!

How bout you? Ever get surprises when you see a photo? Can you imagine how graceful I was crossing that crick? Yoga much lately?

-Scott

Categories: fitfluetial, marathon, run, Running, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Animated Running, Trail Nimbleness, Yoga Bliss, & I’m a Sunglassed Winner!

  1. nice pics today! The GIFs kinda made my head spin lol beautiful grace crossing that creek. all the balancing yoga must have helped πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! Ha, sorry about the head spinners. And yeah, I’m assuming the yoga is the only reason I didn’t fall in. I’m about as graceful as a bullfrog in that pic.

  2. Did my first yoga-ish class today. Loved it even though I was the only one under 65 in the class, haha!

  3. I always get surprises when I see photos (of me), mostly that my eyes are closed. That was a very graceful creek crossing you did. Are you sure it only took 8 minutes? And congrats on the gift card. Way to go!

    • Ha, you need to start looking out for the race photogs!
      It at least seemed like it took 8 minutes. It was a pretty sad sight. And thanks!!!

  4. That gif almost made me stroke out but, your winning pic was EPIC. πŸ™‚

  5. Have a great holiday!

  6. Love the animated GIFs! Nice trail run – we have one of those around here with a creek crossing but I haven’t done it in awhile. You’ve inspired me to try to get there over the Christmas break!

    • Thank you! This trail actually has two creek crossings, but this one was all muddy from rain, so it was treacherous to cross! I hope you got out to your trail!!!

  7. My photos usually surprise me in how hideous they are and I’m always saying “I actually look like that??!”. Great photos for you and you’re such a badazz!!

  8. That picture is pretty excellent–it’s no wonder you won!

  9. 1) i don’t know how you made those gifs but i expect you to do that for me for all of my races now.
    2) did you beat orange shirt woman or did she edge you out?
    3) did you win at yoga?

    • 1) I doubt you could afford my rates (I charge too much).
      2) Oh yes, I beat her. I don’t know why, but when I was trying to pass her, she kept cutting me off until we were all the way over to the side of the road.
      4) I got first place in yoga. Always.

  10. charissarunning

    Great photos! And what a great surprise to find that you ran along with a friend! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! It’s funny, I almost messaged my friend before that race to see what her race plan was, since I knew we run a similar pace. Funny that I was running with her after all.

  11. Free money for an awesome pose? Score! Also, love the gifs. Very talented.

    • Haha, thank you! I actually get to pick up the gift card this week finally. So excited for some new shoes! Glad the gifs didn’t make you dizzy!

  12. DUDE….you rock, and awesome photos.

  13. Neat pix, and yeah you look pretty cool in that last one. Merry Cmas, Scott. I appreciate the support this year.

    =)

    D.

  14. That red carpet pic is fabulous. LOL

  15. I love everything about this post!!! Congrats on the marathon!! hope you and your family had a great Christmas!

  16. I yoga-ed yesterday actually! But that instructor looks much more beastmode than mine. The class I took was a little more restorative. I hope you and the fam had a wonderful holiday!

    • Nice! Yeah, this instructor always brings it! I love some restorative yoga, but always seem to ed up in a power class.
      Thanks! Hope yours was great too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

