More Miles & Smiles, More Races & Faces

It was time to get in one last weekend of miles in before my next half marathon.

So Friday I knocked out a quick 4 miler – pretty uneventful.

Saturday I banged out 14 miles. This run I met up with the White Rock Running Co-op, and a long time run bud…

My friend Ann. We ran. I ran with Ann.

My friend Ann. We ran. I ran with Ann.

My bud and I hadn’t run together in a while, and so we chatted the (exactly) 2 hours we were running. I was pretty pleased, because even with the chatting we still were able to hold an 8:30 per mile pace. I’m hoping that’s a good sign for this weekend’s race where I really want to claim a PR.

It was also good that I ran there because part of the race is going through the same part of town as this training run.

IMG_2274

Afterwards we had tacos…naturally.

How can it be butt burnin if it's only medium heat?

How can it be butt burnin if it’s only medium heat?

Then it was on to the boy’s soccer game. Sadly, my coaching didn’t lead us to a win this week.

Go Landsharks!

Go Landsharks!

On Sunday I met up with some friends for a trail run. We cranked out another 6 miles.

We forgot to take a pic, so here's an old one of mostly the same folks.

We forgot to take a pic, so here’s an old one of mostly the same folks.

We were either on a squiggly trail, or drunk..or both.

We were either on a squiggly trail, or drunk..or both.

Afterwards it was on to yoga. Aaaaand my legs were done.

The rest of the weekend saw us visiting the pumpkin patch. Though it didn’t seem quite right when it is 85 degrees out.

1272248_10152504935040369_8325893545289344225_o 10413412_10152504904900369_3040217240909062864_n 10616477_10152504905610369_4552478599724037608_n1912337_10152504905145369_8779984640811400934_n

What else, what else..oh yeah, I signed up for a 2nd race this week!!! Two days before the 13.1, I’m running a 3.1. It’s the inaugural Mavs Run This Town 5k. Woot woot!

Boom.

Boom.

This event combines a lot of stuff I love – running, the Mavericks, and The Old 97’s. I’ll preview this race soon, but for now, just know that I’m super happy fun time pumped!

How bout you? Exhausting weekend much? Any good topics to talk about on long runs with friends? Git yo pumkins yet? Good idea to race less than 48 hrs before another race?

-Scott

Categories: fitfluetial, marathon, run, Running, taco, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “More Miles & Smiles, More Races & Faces

  1. I did a trail run with a similar looking map result. I couldn’t find my turn and wasn’t lost precisely, just directionally challenged.

    Maybe butts are extra sensitive to being burned, so a medium heat would do it? Did you put some on your butt to test it out?

    • Ha, yeah, that was the ‘technical’ part of the trail. Sometimes getting lost on trails is half the fun.

      Oh snap, I must’ve been doing it wrong. I had put it in my mouth. Next time! 😉

  2. It looks really warm there. It was beautiful here in Nova Scotia this past week (no jackets needed, t-shirt weather) and then all of a sudden BOOM – layers upon layers are needed and mitts on the hands 😦
    I finally did my first run post half marathon – oh my goodness it was awesome! We’ve have our pumpkins too. I’m running/racing a 5k this Saturday. Consider your 5k a warm up for your half!

    • Ha, yeah, it’s still in the 90’s during the day. Blergh. Bummer about your cold front! Send some of it our way – some of it. 🙂

      Glad you had a good run!!!! Enjoy your race and pumpkins! I’ll try to not go too hard in the 5k. But we’ll see…

  3. Awesome weekend! That’s a lot of running! I hope you crush the half next weekend – all signs point to yes with a successful run on a similar route!

    • Thank you! Only drawback is I fall asleep earlier and earlier each night. Oh well. Hopefully I’ll be rested for the half – thanks for the encouragement!

  4. That is quite the trail route! No pumpkins in my life, I don’t have a permanent place to live yet and the thought of lugging pumpkins from rental to rental does not sound great. Good luck on the two races!

    • Ha, yeah, it’s definitely challenging with all the little turns and hills. But fun! Ha, I don’t blame you on the pumpkins, hope you find a place soon. Thank you!!

  5. Nice pics there…everyone looks so happy!!! Love it!! Wow, 2 races!! Eeek!! You’re going to rock ’em, I know!! Have a fab week!! xoxo

  6. Can’t imagine 85 degrees and pumpkins mixed together. I tried growing a pumpkin, but the early snow killed it dead way back in August I think. I bought one at the grocery store instead. Just think of your 5k as a warm-up shake-out for the half! You’re going to have 2 great races!!

    • Well, today it’s 90, so that’s not good. Bummer about your pumpkin and snow in August!!!!!!! Thanks for the advice – It’ll be hard for me to hold back, but I’ll try.

  7. Interesting trail map!! Good luck with your races, you’re gonna rock!

    • Haha, yeah, it kind of has a lot of turns in that one section. Can you believe we went 3 miles in that part alone??? Thank you!

  8. WalkToRio

    A 3 miles before a half isn’t bad at all, just gets your muscles in tune.
    My favorite subjects to talk on long workouts are always food and drinks, I just like to fantasize of what I’m gonna/wanna eat after the workout.

    • Ok, thanks. I’m afraid to wear myself out, but I think you’re right.
      Haha, yes, we also talk about food and drink. Tacos get a lot of discussion.

  9. I think you’ll have two great races! Good luck with them!
    Did you guys find a pumpkin?!

  10. 85 degrees does not scream “fall” to me. That’s why I love New England. Let’s talk again after it snows though. LOL

  11. Looks like you had a fun weekend! No pumpkin patch for me–the future in-laws grew about 3 dozen pumpkins in their garden this year, so all I need to do is walk into the back yard 🙂

    • Thanks! It was pretty fun. Oh wow, that’s great about growing your own pumpkins. Great idea!! Not sure how they’d do in Texas tho.

  12. Jane Likes to Run

    Yea pumpkins! I waiting to see if some lovely teenager smashes the one that I have on my porch. I think it’s fun to run races close to each other. It gets you more motivated. …or something like that !

    • Ha, same here. We keep ours in back, but do have one in front – so far it’s still intact. Ha, yes, motivated. Makes it easy not to get too worked up over the 2nd one cause I gots a first one first.

  13. Sounds like you are ready for your half. We spent Sunday afternoon at the pumpkin patch, man it got hot lol.

    Sounds like you need some online coaching classes :). Hey as long as everyone had fun, all that matters.

    • Thanks bud, I hope so! Ha, glad I wasn’t the only one in a sweaty pumpkin patch.

      Haha, yes, well we do have fun. That’s for sure!

  14. No pumpkins for us yet…that’s next week..The kids don’t want them to rot before halloween. All kinds of convo on my long run. I did 20 on Sunday, so for 3 1/2 hours you can talk about anything, more than once. Good work running and good luck on your PR.

    • Oh yes, good plan! Ours will rot either way at the patch or our house, so we went ahead and got them. Haha! Yes, 3.5 hours with someone will force a lot of discussions. Thank you, I’ll do my best!

  15. You know I got my pumpkins already… and then I went and got a few more! I bet your shorter race will be a good last run before your half. Just think of it as a warm up!

  16. 8:30 pace is definitely a good sign! Go get that PR!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

