Lil Runner Enters Kindergarten

Welp, it was bound to happen, and it finally did. The boy started kindergarten today.

He'll grow into his backback eventually.

He’ll grow into his backback eventually.

If you follow this blog, then you may know that this kid loves his sports. I even enter him in races whenever I get the chance. Like that time at Disney when he won his heat!

He's a natural.

He’s a natural.

Anyway, he asked to have a “boy’s day” over the weekend. I had a ton to do around the house, but gladly put it aside to hang with the lil man. I just had to wake up extra early to get my run in first! 9+ sweaty miles.

After that I showered and we went to watch the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle movie. Luckily I had some free passes when I won my age group at a recent 5k…score! He really enjoyed the flick!

Then we went to the sporting goods store to get him some soccer shoes. But we got a little distracted with all the toys there…

And we ran into this guy…

We added a new rubber friend to our tough guy crew.

We added a new rubber friend to our tough guy crew.

We also grabbed a bite at one of our fave tex mex joints. And went to the park so he could play on the playground. By the time we got home, I was exhausted.

I was hoping to lay on the couch for a while, and so I asked the boy if he wanted to play a game on the computer (thinking that might distract him), but he said, “No. I’d rather hang out with you. It’s boy’s day after-all.”

I couldn’t resist that. I sucked it up and played “battle” with him until it was time to settle down to a movie of his choice.

The night before his first day of school, I also got a chance to relax with him on the patio in the same way we did 5 years ago…

He's grown about 5 times his size. Based on that growth rate, I figure he'll be about 80 feet tall by his 20's.

He’s grown about 5 times his size. Based on that growth rate, I figure he’ll be about 80 feet tall by his 20’s.

Which brings us to this morning. The lil one was offer to lower education.

We'll see if he's still smiling in a few months.

We’ll see if he’s still smiling in a few months. 🙂

Before we left I gave him a hung and some last minute advice…

Just like the ending of 'Lost in Translation'.

Just like the ending of ‘Lost in Translation’.

Like they say, time really does go fast.  So crazy.

How bout you? Facebook feed overrun with first day of school pics? Want to join our tough guy crew? Anyone else see TMNT?

-Scott

Categories: Life Times, run, Running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 53 Comments

Post navigation

53 thoughts on “Lil Runner Enters Kindergarten

  1. Awww…all grown up! My oldest starts next year – trying not to think about it. Hope he had a good first day! School starts next week here…so I am anticipating a few handful of “first day” pictures 🙂

    • Oooh, good luck next year. I’m finding that it’s a whole new chapter! He had an excellent first day! Let’s hope they continue. Good luck next week!!!

  2. Love this post Scott. Cherish it. Little Squirt. 🙂

  3. He likes running AND Mexican food?!?! He is just like you!

    Adorable pic of 5 years ago and now. Way too much cuteness in this post!!!

    • Hahaha, I hadn’t thought of it like that!

      Thank you, I don’t know why that candid photo stuck in my head and then I decided we should recreate it.

  4. Oh my gosh, this is soooo precious. I love that he wanted a boys’ day to hang out with his old man and that recreated photo is perfect. They grow up so fast.

    • Thank you!!!! He will do sweet things like that from time to time – wanting to hang with certain people, wanting to get people presents randomly, etc. Yes, growing so fast!

  5. This was seriously the sweetest post ever ♡

  6. So cute! He looks like an awesome kid

  7. He is seriously adorable and extremely talented with a hula hoop! I hope he has a great school year.

  8. Those are the cutest pictures I’ve ever seen. And that running picture, incredible! Very sweet post 🙂

  9. Aww, so sweet! I love that last picture. Sounds like it was a great boys day. And that comparison shot is awesome, too.

  10. I would like to be in the crew. PLEASE.

    I have not seen the TMNT movie but I was a huge fan of the cartoon growing up. Huge.

    • You can join if you can take a punch as well as that guy can.

      It was a fun movie. Michal Bay, so big action sequences.

      BTW, a guy here was so obsessed with them that he crowd funded a party a few months back and got everything TMNT to be there – even Vanilla Ice to sing the theme song! I didn’t go, but had friends there:
      http://epicpartydallas.com/

  11. He’s adorable! I love that you had a “boy’s day.” I have not seen TMNT yet, but considering how much I loved it as a kid, I probably should!

  12. WalkToRio

    Nice post!
    His running form is fantastic and his coordination with the hula-hoop incredible.
    None of my friends have kids going to school, but I have several complaining about going back to school, which is basically the same.

    • Thank you!
      Yes I know, he’s way more coordinated than me and a much better runner!
      Haha, well I’m just glad I don’t have to go back to school. College was fun, but still…

  13. runningschlub

    Sounds like a great guys day. We get so busy with life it’s great to stop and just truly enjoy some time with the biggest blessings in our lives, our kids. I would totally join that tough guy club, although the guy you ran into at the store may be a bit too tough lol

    • Thanks bud, it was! You’re right! I’m glad we took the time to just play all day! You’ll have to pass initiation – which is fighting that guy, but I think you can take him.

  14. cutest post ever >tear<

  15. Such a sweet post, and what a cutie he is!

  16. Your face says it all in that hug! Whether we’re ready for it or not, time does fly and kiddos grow up quickly! Now it’s just time for a whole new adventure!

  17. How exciting. I can’t get over what a handsome little boy he is! How sweet that he asked for a special day with you. Grinning from ear to ear over here 🙂

  18. Aw all grown up! That’s got to be tough for you though! I’m not a parent yet but I hear it’s such a bittersweet day. Hope his first day went great and cheers to many more!

    • Yeah, it was interesting to see the parents before us walking out with tears rolling down their cheeks. He did have a great day, thank you!!!

  19. Pingback: Race Creepin, Newish Run Route, Yoga & Swimsuit Sale | Piratebobcat

  20. That’s so sweet! Love the time lapsed photo!

  21. Pingback: Mornin Running & Man-Panties Cont’d | Piratebobcat

  22. Why’d ya haveta ruin the laughs and chuckles w/ that lump-in-the-throat shot at the end? You look so heartbroken you just might be acting lol.

  23. What was the advice?
    Did you cry?
    Did you intentionally save the glass? And then fill it to the exact same level with the exact same fluid?
    Hah!

    • I think I told him something profound like ‘don’t pee your pants’. Ha! No I didn’t save the glass intentionally for this picture, it just kind of worked out!

  24. So sweet! I hope he enjoyed his first week at school!

  25. *sniffle*

    That was so sweet. I’m glad you shared your boys’ day.

  26. OMG, he is just adorable. I hope he had a wonderful first day!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

