Meeting Pentatonix, Yard Work Workout & 1st Bike Ride

So the other day I was working (I’m a TV Producer) all day at an early 4th of July festival. It was pretty fun. The headlining music act was Pentatonix.

And being that I had an all access pass, I checked out a bit of their performance from the stage in front of an estimated 100,000 festival-goers!

I liked to imagine they were all cheering for me (they may have been).

Notice how the female band member is totally checking me out.

To be honest, I didn’t know much about them going into this event. But since we were interviewing them, I needed to research them. I came to find out that they are very popular and pretty talented. They were also super nice in person.

They asked me to join the group based on some of my youtube karaoke videos.

They asked me to join the group based on some of my sweet youtube karaoke videos.

And they put on a pretty good show to boot.

Front row joe.

Front row Joe.

Between the festival and that morning’s run/boot camp, I was pretty exhausted. The next day I took a rare unscheduled ‘rest’ day. However, I ended up doing 5 hours of yard work. That is a workout in itself. I was left noodle-armed from all the mowing, edging, etc. Imagine how much more tired I’d be if I got around to the manscaping.

Later on we took a doggy walk and the boy was anxious to try his bike out sans assistance – I had taken off the training wheels earlier in the day.  I was shocked that the first ride without the training wheels, he did pretty good!  You can watch the video HERE.

So he can now bike.

He can run.

He's flying (literally).

He gets it from me.

And he can swim.

In da pool.

He gets it from me.

We may have a budding triathlete on our hands!

 How bout you? Are you a fan of Pentatonix? Yard work ever double as a workout for ya? Anyone else see a lil triathlete?

-Scott

 

PS – Sorry I’ve been a little MIA – WordPress was giving me issues.

Categories: Concerts, run, Running, Video Work | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “Meeting Pentatonix, Yard Work Workout & 1st Bike Ride

  1. He’s a natural on the bike! Wow!

  2. He totally rocked the bike! Watch out Dad…you need to start saving your money for HIS Triathlons 😉

  3. Melanie

    My kids and I are huge Pentatonix fans. We have followed them since they were on the Sing Off. If you haven’t as already, you have to watch their Evolution of Music YouTube video.

  4. Best Selfies on the Blog-O-Sphere! And I totally smell a triathlete. Little squirt. In other news, I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Mostly because of your selfies. And your cool group runs. And because you’ve inspired me to eat tacos several times a week. Check out my post for the deets!

    • Wow, high praise indeed! And what the what!?!?! Fo realz? Thanks so much! Just getting caught back up, but will check it out ASAP! Ha, I’m glad you enjoy my nonsense!

  5. What a cycling superstar! Pentatonix performs the best a Capella version of “Little Drummer Boy!” They’re phenomenal – super jealous! Looks like a great weekend!

  6. OMG! Your kido is a cutie pie!!!

  7. He’s so cute! I like Pentatonix, kind of different. Sounds like a great weekend!

  8. Whoa mini triathlete! Awesome work on the bike. He’s got me beat for sure.

  9. I like Pentatonix simply because I like a cappella, but I’m not a huge fan of their overly dramatic videos. LOL

    • They are sort of Gleeish, but fun. Yeah, their videos are pretty extreme – but that’s how they get most of their fans.

  10. Aww, what a cutie!!!

    Hmm, I think I first heard of Pentatonix last holiday season because of a mix they did. I really like listening to them!

    • Why thanks! (Wait, did you mean me, or the boy?) 😉

      I have heard that they do some pretty good holiday renditions. I’ll have to look them up!

  11. What a natural athlete! Good for him! I like Pentatonix but am not super familiar with their material. Sounds like you got a lot done in your yard! Way to go!

    • Why thanks! Yeah, I’m not rushing out to buy their ‘merch’ but they were really nice and the music seems creative and fun. Ha, I only got part of the yard work done. It never ends!

  12. He is totally an “iron kid”. So cool! And yes, yard work totally counts as a workout. Especially when you put it off for days and days because you’d rather be running or yoga’ing or anything else.

  13. Wow, your son did a great job on that bike! I like pentatonix. I saw them on the sing-off show.

    • Why thanks! Yes, they won Season 3 apparently. I’ve never seen the show, but if they won it, they must be talented!

  14. I totally see a little triathlete!!! What a cutie!!! 🙂 🙂

  15. elihawkins6

    You got yourself a purdy sweet gig it looks like! Completely cool. And your kid is on his way to awesome!

  16. That’s awesome your son did so well biking without training wheels! I definitely see tri in his future 🙂
    Yes- yard work can be SUCH a workout!!

  17. You get to do the coolest stuff for work!! I was going to say I’m jealous but I’m a total awkward-dork-ball so I think working in a field that required me to interview people would just be horrible for all parties. Me thinks you have an Ironman in the making! As in Robert Downey Jr. 😉

    • Haha, I’d love to see you interview a celeb! To be honest, I really don’t care most of the time, but once or twice I came across folks who I really respect – and I must admit I got a bit nervous and tongue tied. Luckily that’s rare though.
      Ha, yes, either Ironman will work!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

