Early Runs of Necessity & Hauntings by Children

The weekend that was was a full one.  The wife was working, so that meant daddy daycare doodie duty (OK, there may have been some doodie too (diaper fun)).  And since CCP is so not cool with leaving toddlers home alone so the parents can go to the bar for a run, that meant I had to run before she left for work.  That meant meeting up with my early running friends at 5:30 am. I was able to squeeze 9 miles in with them before I had to head home.

Some of the early run crew sharing a potty break after a recent run.

Some of the early run crew sharing a potty break after a recent run.

The rest of the day, it was chasing around the two little monsters as they tried to make as much of a mess in the house as possible.  I swear it’s like living in a haunted house – you hear random unexplained noises and screams, or you leave a clean room, then come back 30 seconds later to find it completely destroyed!  Is it a poltergeist or a toddler?

Playing firefighter selfie. Don't let the cute exterior fool you, that's how they weaken your defenses.

Playing firefighter selfie. Don’t let the cute exterior fool you, that’s how they get you to lower your defenses.

Sunday was more of the same.  I got up early to get in a quick 3 miles before going to yoga.  And this yoga class was a tough one.  People were struggling.  But it made us stronger, right?  The rest if the day involved more kiddie games.

The two year old made a Mr Potatohead.  Let your nightmares begin now.

The two year old made a Mr Potatohead. Let your nightmares begin now.

Mix in a few household chores, doggy walks, and trips to the park….by Sunday evening I was exhausted.

With two dogs and two toddlers, It's never as peaceful as the photos make it seem.

Trying to burn off some of their nonstop energy.

Keep calm and slide on.

Keep calm and slide on.

Just a few thumbsuckers.

Just a few thumbsuckers.

In fact, I pretty much passed out as soon as the wife got home….that is until I was suddenly awoken by a large crash.  The boy for some reason knocked over cabinet in his room that shattered a piggy bank that was on the floor for some reason.

We're totally innocent.

We’re totally innocent.

I heard once that they took a very fit marine and had him shadow a toddler and do everything the same.  By the end of the day, the marine was completely spent.  I totally feel for him.  Maybe that should be a new book I should write – The Toddler Workout.  It’s that thing where you never sit still, you run everywhere, and you keep your energy up with sugar and carbs.  I’ll get working on that.

How bout you?  Good weekend of workouts?  Every been in a house ‘haunted’ by a child?  Want to pre-order a copy of my new book?

-Scott

 

Categories: Running | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “Early Runs of Necessity & Hauntings by Children

  1. I’m tired just reading that. Looks like Mr. Potatohead did some yoga too!

  2. I can’t imagine being a stay-at-home parent– thoughest job out there!
    However, when the kids are as cute as your kids are, it must be a little easier 🙂
    It was a long weekend here, so no work today! I got in an awesome mountain bike ride yesterday!

    • I was thinking the same thing – especially a single parent!
      Ha, yeah, I guess they’re all right. 😉
      You Canadians and your crazy holidays! We have a 3 day weekend this coming weekend – can’t wait! I know you enjoyed your mountain biking!

  3. Ohhh yes, I love the book idea!! That book would totally rock!!! I want to order a copy!! Such cute pictures and it sounds like you definitely had an adventurous, tiring weekend filled with much fun!! Adorable kids!!

    • I totally should! Try as we can to get them to eat healthy, they still do eat a lot of junk, but yet they have zero body fat. I guess that’s what happens when the motor is always burning! Thank you!

  4. I think the 2yr old wanted Mr.Potatohead to try some yoga!

  5. That contorted Potato Head is freakin’ me out. Ps. I’d totally buy the DVD box set of the Toddler Workout 2T-X. Super cute kids. 🙂

  6. Those are some cute kiddos! Your book sounds like a million dollar idea. I don’t think I could handle that workout.

    • Thanks! Yeah, maybe there’s something to it. Even if I took just a small portion of what they do in a day – it would be an exhausting workout!

  7. Adorable kids, scary potato head! Great job getting in those miles!

    • Thanks, and it was! Yeah, I’m so not a morning person, so that shows how much I enjoy running – setting the alarm for 4:15 am!

  8. TartanJogger

    No wonder you need to sit down at work!

  9. I seriously have no idea how parents do it. We watch my sister’s 3 kids sometimes and when that happens, 6 hours of kiddos and we’re exhausted (and want a 3 week break from anything having to do with children). I have zero clue how people do that day in and day out and have energy for normal things like work or running! They ARE adorable though 😉

    • I know right?!?! I learned long ago to abandon any hope of getting anything productive done when I’m watching them alone. So I just try to enjoy the games we play. Either way, it’s completely exhausting, as you’ve found out!
      Thank you!

  10. I so miss that age…and yet I don’t! I don’t have the energy for it now!

  11. That looks like one full weekend. But your kids are so darn cute!

  12. snarkysnatch

    Great comedic energy in your blog and gravitar. Love your spirit.

  13. You’re lucky to have an early-running group to get you out the door because yikes is 5:30 early! Glad you got your runs in and had fun with the kids. 🙂

    • Can you believe that some weeks they actually meet at 5? They’re nuts. Thanks – the weekend turned out just fine!

  14. HAHAHA I would totally buy your book! But damn, you should be proud. You got in 9 miles BEFORE a full day of taking care of your haunted house.

    • Ha, thanks!!! And thanks again, it took some will power to be able to get it in, but I knew I’d be kicking myself if I didn’t. And I don’t like kicking myself. It hurts.

  15. The Toddler Workout could be the newest fad workout, better capitalize on it before someone steals your idea! Kudos to you for getting up early and running BEFORE all of the craziness 🙂 There is something Picasso about Mr. Potatohead, you may have an artistic genius on your hands!

    • I know, right! I wrote it as a joke, but now I’m thinking I need to follow through on it. Seriously, just watching them run wild is exhausting.
      Ha, thanks, I knew it’d be my only chance to run, so had to! Hmmm, I hadn’t thought of that. It is Picasso-y. Yes, either a genius artist, or someone very demented. Haha

  16. My son is still an age that when things get too quiet, I wonder what he’s gotten into. He’s 19 now, so those things have a different tone to them. I’m shocked I haven’t gone gray haired yet.

    • Hahaha, yes, that’s trouble. Whenever things get silent around here, I know something bad is going down, and I know I should investigate, but sometimes I take the couple minutes to enjoy the silence…..before I go see the disaster that was preoccupying their attention.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

