Final Dopey Post (maybe): Shout-Outs!

This should be the last Dopey Challenge post (unless I come up with something else later).  If you missed any of my other Dopey Recaps, you can see them here: Expo, Kids Race, 5k, 10k, 13.1, 26.2, Post Run, & Meet-Ups.

Much like my first marathon (Disney 2008), my sister is the one who urged me to register for this challenge.  So first shout outs go to her.

First marathon experience was painful.

2008 – First marathon experience was painful.

Not only for that, but also running with me (and finishing herself), driving us around,  letting us stay at her place, and getting us into the theme parks.  Here’s a tip for anyone wanting to run a Disney race – try to get a sibling that works there, it has its benefits, ha!

Us runnin through Cinderella's Castle.

Us runnin through Cinderella’s Castle.

Another shout out goes to her roommate.  She had to put up with a few things, like us crowding up their place.  But more importantly she put up with a few days of watching Disney Jr non-stop on the TV as her and her beau watched the boy when we were up early for the races.  She also was able to bring him to the final race in time for us to cross the finish line.  Then she took him into Epcot while we went to meet our ma when she finished.

Glad they were able to make some roomie.

Glad they were able to make some roomie.

Speaking of which, more shout outs to the mom for not only paying for a couple meals and groceries, but also some theme park photos.  She also gets props for finishing the Dopey herself.  I’ve had many comments from people on how impressed they are with that last fact.  She had never run a full marathon before, and was able to do that after three days of consecutive races.  Not only that, but she finished it faster and stronger than a lot of people who didn’t run the previous three days.

Her arms were being ripped out of their sockets.

Her arms were being ripped out of their sockets.

Also, I need to shout out to all the bloggers who supported me through all the training and races.  The amount of positive messages you sent was unbelievable!  I don’t want to leave anyone out, so I won’t mention specific people, but know that I appreciate it!

That also goes for all my friends and family who supported me either with words, messages, or even running with me!  Like my “coach” Rexy and the fine folks at Thursday Night Social Run and Project Run 214.  As well as my yoga instructor and chiropractor who helped keep me injury free during all those training miles.

My constant companion, the training sched.

My constant companion, the training sched.

Finally, I have to thank the immediate family for putting up with my months of training.  I tried to do it without inconveniencing anyone – like running in the wee hours before they were awake – but I know there were a few times when I did.  So thanks for TCB and allowing me to put in the hours!

I just said something hilarious, I'm sure.

I just said something hilarious, I’m sure.

So now it’s time to move on to new challenges.  I look forward to continued support as well as supporting everyone else as they take on their endeavors!  Let’s do this!

What challenges are you looking forward to?  What kind of support do you get?

Categories: Race Recaps | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Final Dopey Post (maybe): Shout-Outs!

  1. My husband is such a great supporter. He’s my biggest fan as I train for my first marathon 🙂

    I loved following your Dopey recaps and look forward to whatever’s next on your plate!

    • Thank you, I’m excited for the next chapter (I think I know what I want to do).
      Can’t wait to follow along on your journey!

  2. TartanJogger

    Great shout outs: your sis and mom are clearly awesome!
    So, what’s next?

  3. Sounds like you have an awesome family. Thanks for sharing the journey!

  4. Your mom rocks! Heck, your whole family and their friends rock! My parents finally came to one of my races and my mom cried when I crossed the finish line (I ran pretty decent thankfully). It was awesome!

    • Thank you!!! What a cool experience for you! Our mom used to come to all of our races, but I think she got tired of watching and wanted to join!

  5. Awww love it!! I’m going to tell my sister to drop out of college and work at a Disney Theme park so I can run a race. Or I’ll talk to my parents and…ewww. Nevermind. The last photo- I’m pretty sure you farted. Just look at all the expressions. It has to be that.

  6. Yes, tell your sis to get on it! And tell your parents to “get on it” too!
    How did you know about my gassy issues?

  7. Thank you, again! And for the nice words 🙂 It’s nice to be reminded you are loved and appreciated—and, maybe proud of!! And, yes, Robyn is awesome….always! It was fun and a very cool weekend……we can always say, ‘we did it!’ !! Don’t know I would do it again—it’s hard trying to balance 4 days of progressively longer runs trying to ‘save’ enough to finish!

    I did get tired of watching you and Robyn and not doing! But watching you and Robyn run, and getting older and wanting to ‘step it up’ made me do it. Robyn, esp., would always tell me I could do it when I first started…..esp. whenever I would tell her I didn’t think I could! You would tell me what I needed to do better at/work at! In the beginning – 2 1/2 years ago, running 1 min. was a pipe-dream! If you guys weren’t running, I probably wouldn’t have ever attempted it.

    Doing the Dopey was an ambitious thing, for sure …. for anyone!! I wanted to prove to you and Robyn (and your brother) and even your dad, that I could do it—tho your dad said he knew that no matter what, I’d finish!! I had twinges of doubts a couple of times; esp. when the doc told me no more running due to the developing cartilage in knees issue, etc; but the doc and my experienced runner physical therapist supported me doing it in the end which was great and very helpful to know they felt I could do it. Now, I’m thinking I can do a few more halves in the next year before I have to limit myself to 5Ks!

    So thanks to you and Robyn for leading the way and helping me realize that running is individual….you are only running in competition with yourself and no one cares what your level is… — and runners are supportive to other runners ….whether a walker, a walk-runner (me), a runner, or an elite runner. Getting out and feeling good and reeking the benefits of improved health is worth it! And, it’s fun! I wouldn’t have guessed that a couple of years ago!

    you are a good writer, btw, too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

