Knee Healing (knealing)

Well this just got cornfusing and frustratable.  I decided to test my knee out on a run today.  I’d taken 5 days off and felt good, so thought the 6th day I’d get back at it.  I was supposed to run 5 miles, but I told myself heading out the door to “take it easy” and “best to keep it shorter to be safe”.  I also adjusted my pace and kept it almost a minute slower per mile than normal.

1st mile I felt aight.  At mile 2 it bothered me a bit and so I decided to call it and head home.  Prob was I was 1.5 miles from my house.  But then a funny thing happened.  As I kept going, it stopped bothering me.  It felt normal!  I got very excited, but instead of going the full 5 miles, I cut it at 4…ya know, to be smart.

Then I stretched and showered and still felt good.  Then I drove to work and just like when I hurt it last week, as soon as I got done with the commute, got outta the ride and started walking, it was hurting.  Not as bad as last week, but still noticeable.

So I guess I’m going to have to take more time off.  It’s a real bummer cause my training was going so well.  And now I am getting into the real meat of the Disney Dopey Challenge training sched.  This week was supposed to be 5, 8, 3, 8, 18 mile runs.  Dang, was looking forward to it!

You know what they say about runners, they aren’t mad that they’re hurt, they’re mad because they can’t run!

So I’ll have to settle for some gym and yoga sessions.  Maybe some swimming or biking if that doesn’t bother it.  I’m also RICEing.  Gonna focus on eating right.  Getting adjusted by my chiro.  And I picked up some of this homeopathic medicine.  Yeah, I tend to explore all options…20131119-174012.jpg

I think it’s a mild enough injury that hopefully all of that will take care of it soon.  If not, then I might have to get some more help.

Anyway, how bout you?  Any nagging injuries?  What are you doing about it?

Categories: Running | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Knee Healing (knealing)

  1. Jeanette

    Love me some Arnica! I honestly think it works. Sending speedy healing thoughts!

  2. Dang, sorry to hear that. Hope the knee heals up soon. I’ve found that self-massage has really helped a lot of my aches and pains (maybe by getting more blood into the area). Not sure about on the knee though.

    • Thanks! I have been massaging it some when I commute. If I remember to, I put some Biofreeze on it, like you said, to hopefully get some blood there.

  3. I hope your knee gets better. My left hamstring is being uncooperative. I had to walk and stretch during my last long run. Felt like it was in a knot. No bueno!

  4. Have you hit it hard with Advil (like 3 every 5 hours for a couple of days minus W part of the RICEW plan?) It’s too bad that the drive is bothering it…a good sign that it’s angry. I would watch the biking myself…don’t like the motion when my knee’s bugging me. But of course, I don’t know anything! 🙂

    • I hadn’t thought about using Advil. Tho I’d hat to miss the W since now I’m depressed because I can’t run 😉
      You’re probably right about the biking. I think I need to avoid any bending and straightening of the joint for a while.
      Fortunately you know me, because I know everything!

  5. Aww nuts! Sorry about the bipolar knee! Keep resting, you’re doing the right thing! I have a bulged disc, which is something I’ll have forever. I just have to be careful about how I move my body and I definitely have to stretch.

  6. I’ve never heard of Arnica but I will be curious to hear your review…seriously a bummer that it’s still bugging you. Sending healthy vibes your way!

    • Thanks! I’ll take all the vibes I can get!
      I’ve used it before when I had another injury, and I think it really helped. We also use a homeopathic medicine for the kiddos when they’re teething. Seems to help them out too!

  7. At risk of being annoying by giving more amateur advice, maybe you can try some spin classes to keep leg turnover and cardio up, assuming it doesn’t bother your knee. If the class features “jumps” or too much resistance, just listen to your body and don’t increase the intensity.

    • Thank you! I’ve thought of that, and may give it a go after a little more rest. I’ve done spin classes before and they are TOUGH!

  8. Sorry to hear! It sounds like there was improvement after you took time off, so hopefully a little more rest will do the trick. Do you take fish oil? It’s not an immediate fix, but it helps reduce inflammation and is great for your joints and knees 🙂

    • Yes, I do take fish oil and magnesium. I am upping the dosage though per my chiro’s suggestion.
      I hope to be back on the streets soon!

  9. I’ve also had arnica recommended to me by multiple masseuses but have never bought it. Interested to hear if it helps! Hope you feel better soon!

    • I’ve used it once before and it seemed to really help. We also give homeopathic teething medicine to the kiddos, and that seems to work wonders too!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

