Weekend Recap: Rest, Yardwork & Yoga

Despite a setback, I will come back strong!

Despite a setback, I will come back strong!

I mentioned last week about how I tweaked my knee on a Disney Dopey Challenge training run.  As a result, I had to miss my first two workouts in 3 months!  It was frustrating, but I think it was the smart thing to do.  I just had to keep reminding myself that missing two runs will not hurt my fitness very much.  I have not run since Wed.  I have rested my knee and had a couple sessions with my chiropractor, in addition to some RICE.

I did take the dogs on a short walk on Saturday and it felt fine.  So on Sunday I went to see my yoga instructor.  That was exactly what the metaphorical doctor ordered!  I was worried the knee might feel it in some of the squats or lunges, but nope, it felt great!

Unfortunately, I had to do about 4 hours of yard work afterwards instead of rest it, but I had no choice.  I’ve left the yard neglected for over a month now, so had to take care of it.  I also had to take advantage of the 85 degree weather.  Yes, it’s mid November here and still quite warm.  But I’m hoping this was my last mow as the grass around these parts is going dormant now, so hopefully no more growing until spring.

But anyways, I’m glad to report that the yoga/yardwork combo has left me very sore.  So even though I couldn’t run, I still feel like I got a good workout in!  I’m going to test the knee on a run tomorrow, but I’m hoping it’s all good in the hood.

How was your weekend?  Is it still Birkenstock weather where you are?  Have you ever been sore from house/yard work?

Categories: Running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Rest, Yardwork & Yoga

  1. TartanJogger

    Perfect cross-training plan!

  2. Zach wears Birkenstocks year round. I’m not kidding. But I am a wee bit ashamed?!

  3. its 85 degrees where you are?!!! Can we trade? It’s high 30s where i am! Glad you got a workout in AND got yardwork done! win-win 🙂

    • Yes, it’s crazy here. Last week we had our first freeze – in the upper 20’s, then a couple days later it was close to 90. Who knows!

  4. It’s starting to feel like fall here now! It gets into the 40’s at night and it’s windy and cold during the day. I’m lovin’ in!

    • Yes, this week it feels like fall has fallen. In the 50’s over night and around 70 during the day. Though they say it may snow on Sunday…dafu???

  5. I did almost break a sweat watching our yard guys deal with the 2 tons of leaves in our yard yesterday…does that count? 🙂

  6. Don’t push your body too hard and take it easy on your run! I hope your knee heals up soon!

    • Thank you! I took it easy this morning on my run, but this afternoon it aches a little bit. Might have to take some more time off. 😦 Telling me I can’t run is like telling you you can’t take photos.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

