Runner Dude Knee Update

First off, thanks for everyone’s support and advice. It looks as though I slightly strained a ligament inside my knee.
I think what happened was I wasn’t fully warmed up and came to a downhill and went too fast and landed too hard on a step and strained the knee. Then I finished my 8 miler which made it worse.
My chiro did some work on it, and I’ve been RICEWing it (bay adjacent runner). The slight swelling has gone down and the pain is waaay down. I’m going to rest a few more days. Will attempt yoga, but will take it easy.
Hopefully that is all it needs. It’s only been two days but I really miss running.
Hope y’all are feelin good and healthy. Any good weekend plans?

Categories: Uncategorized | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Runner Dude Knee Update

  1. Yes definitely rest and ice and all that good stuff! The knee is a tricky joint. You do not want to aggravate the ligament. Any chance you know which ligament it is?
    People who majorly injure a ligament in their knee have quite a long recovery so you definitely don’t want to push it.
    At work I am seeing 2 patients with knee injuries currently. Both mcl injuries and one of them she has had her patella dislocated a few times just because of how week her joint is. Both these patients are young too (in their early 20s). Don’t want to freak you out but just saying to take it easy for a bit.

    • I’m not sure which it is, but it’s on the inside in the middle.
      Thanks for the info! I know the ligament can be a long recovery, that’s what I was afraid of. Muscle aches and pains, I can take, actual ligament injuries are another story! Good news is today I feel about 90% better! I think what I did was pretty minor (I hope). Taking the weekend off of running is difficult, but hopefully it’s just what I need!

      • That is great that you are feeling better! I am glad to hear it. Yea take it easy then you can come back stronger 🙂

  2. I’m glad it’s not serious and that you’re taking care of it. I think my foot injury was also partly caused by not being warmed up enough before I initiated a speed workout. 😛

    • Oh yes, kind of a double edged sword – you need speed work to get faster, but it also increases you chance of injury. I always get nice and warmed up before I attempt any track or temp runs, etc.
      Is it a strain or plantar fasciitis or something else?

      • It is capsulitis of the second metatarsal, aka, inflamed joint in my foot that causes pain on both the top and bottom plus tendonitis in the supporting tendons of the foot and ankle. It was first diagnosed as a stress fracture, but it turned out to be a soft tissue problem that was helped by active release therapy by my chiropractor, RICE and (when I could put weight on it again) yoga. Not fun, but it could’ve been worse.

  3. Oh no! I hope you heal up fast! I skipped my run today for knee discomfort..it’s so frustrating. I’m thinking of going to see my Chiro next week as well if I’m not 100% soon. I think my legs just need a little TLC. I’m waiting to get dinner tonight, so I’m blogging right now..pretty relaxed weekend for me 🙂 RICE-up and feel better soon!

    • Good news is that today I feel so much better. Not going to push it for a run yet though…couple more days!
      I’ve been seeing my chiro the past few years, and I only wish I had gone earlier – huge difference!
      Hope your dinner was good and you weren’t too distracted at the table with your blog! Haha

      • Great to hear! One of my friends is a Chiro so I started to see her over the summer and she was a life-saver..and I get a hefty discount 🙂

      • Nice!
        I get a pretty good discount from mine as well…the rest I pay with from my Flex account. Works out great!

  4. Wishing you a quick recovery. I’m sure it will feel better in a couple of days.

  5. TartanJogger

    Good plan!

  6. Love the approach…make it heavy on the W. The antioxidants have magical healing powers. I hope that taking it easy for just a bit will be enough to get you back into your program. Enjoy some couch time with your Emmys!

    • I’m sooo sorry, I meant to credit you with the RICEW, but I had already gotten into the W when I wrote the blog. Sorry!
      I feel much better today, hopefully back to new soon!
      Funny, I almost posted a photo of the Emmys in my bed the day after with a caption something like, “Last night was a blur, woke up with these two ladies!”

  7. 😦 I’m glad you at least know what’s wrong. Keep resting!! I hope it gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

